High Line

IMG_0260

IMG_0246

IMG_0248

IMG_0249

IMG_0253

IMG_0254

IMG_0258

IMG_0263

IMG_0267

IMG_0268

Last week, I took a spontaneous trip to The High Line with some friends.  I had been looking forward to visiting this railroad-converted-into-a-park since I first read an article about the project in New York Magazine a year or so ago.  I’d read lots of things about it that I was quite eager to experience for myself.  

Yeah, I heard that some of the chairs are rigged up to the old tracks and they can roll back and forth!…Did you know that there’s no overhead park lighting, and all the lighting is built into the rails on the sides, so that at night, it’s possible to see stars in the city?…Honey, I read that it’s very romantic, and will probably be the next popular New York spot for proposals…

It’s true!  There are a few lounge chairs on wheels rigged up to the original tracks!  We were fortunate enough to score one for a few minutes, but the wheels have stoppers on them, so the rolling back and forth is pretty limited.  And it’s true!  All the park’s lighting was installed in the rails along the sides of the park.  But since it wasn’t dark when we were there, I couldn’t test out the stars theory.  And it’s true!  It is very romantic.  There’s no ring on my finger, though.

Since the fireworks will be launched from the Hudson River this year, I have no doubt that the new and chicly popular High Line will be a prime destination spot for picnics.  Too crowded for me.  But it’s a park I would definitely like to go back to and set out a picnic.  Perhaps on a day that’s not our nation’s independence day.  Perhaps, the day after our nation’s independence day.

Happy 4th of July, everyone!  Wherever, however, and with whomever you celebrate with, I hope it’s filled with cheer and good food.

One Response to “High Line”

  1. A Fine Night for a Picnic « Fear Of Missing Out Says:

    [...] would take advantage of escaping to The High Line more frequently.  I hadn’t been back since I blogged about it in the summer, and it’s interesting to see how the place changes with the seasons. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

