Those lost boys always get me

Usually, when I have a Sunday night to myself, free of rehearsal or work, I cherish it.  This usually involves a couch, a sweet treat, and a netflix.  However, last night, despite all Sunday odds, some friends and I ventured out to…Bushwick!  With cookies in hand and a couple magazines in my purse (you just never know how long the subways will take.  As a precaution, I carry at least 1 snack and 3 hours worth of reading material with me at all times) we landed at the Bushwick Starr to see The Centrifuge‘s production of The Forgetting of Things, an interpretation of the Peter Pan story.  My boyfriend played a lost boy, Captain Hook, and Smee.  Made us very proud.  It’s always a funny thing to watch someone on stage who you know so intimately.  Like, by being in the audience, you’re all of a sudden not any closer to that person than anyone else watching the show.  But more on that another time.

One of my favorite elements of the play was the sound design.  In some of the darker and more twisted moments of the show, emerged some music that reminded me of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.  Sounds of strings followed by a mash up of various Peter Pan sound bytes.  Audio clips from the Disney version, and the Mary Martin movie, and some of the score from Hook.  I have to say, that I grew up on all 3 versions, but Hook holds a special place in my heart.  It was like  Ladybugs.  Or A League of Their Own.  Always on TV.  And when it was on, you better believe that my little brother and I were glued to the tube.  It wasn’t uncommon for us to chant “Ru-fi-ohhhhhhh!” to each other in the den, or reenact the Lost Boys’ massive imaginary food fight (if anyone could explain to me what those colorful globs were, please get in touch).  But, without fail, the part that got me every time was the “Oh, there you are, Peter.”  Where did they find that kid?  Sigh.  Grab a tissue.  Bangarang.

One Response to “Those lost boys always get me”

  1. Katie Says:

    Hallo Faryn’s Blog! Yippee for cookies!

Leave a Reply

