Oh My Polenta

With only 3 days left to take advantage of Brooklyn Dine-In week, my boyfriend and I hopped to it.  Last night we 3-course-mealed it at one of Park Slope’s darlings, Tempo, a restaurant & wine bar on 5th avenue.  Now, polenta’s not usually my go-to in the appetizers department (I’m more of a beet & goat cheese salad girl, or anything with egg and cheese.  Mmm, cheese) but I happened to read Chowhound’s Top 5 Best Dishes at Brooklyn Restaurants last week, and Tempo’s polenta was on several people’s lists.  I respect Top 5 lists, and this time was no exception.  My boyfriend ordered the Tuscan farro salad.  It was respectable.  Yummy, fresh.  Respectable.  Nothing wrong with being a respectable dish, but if you were a dish, wouldn’t you rather be polenta with wild mushroom ragu and fontina cheese?

Leave a Reply

