The Jig Is Up!

our first day

our first day

our first brownie

our first brownie

I feel that it’s time to come clean.  I haven’t quite figured out how to bring it up.  That is, until now.  There is a specific reason why I began this blog a few weeks ago, in addition to desiring to share my everyday musings and all-too-frequent anxiety attacks.  The fact is, there has also been a very exciting “secret side project” that I’ve been cooking up in the past month or so.  And it’s now gotten to the point where my pot has bubbled over and I can no longer keep my secret under lock and key.  Oh, I’m really good at mixing metaphors.  I’ve been known to say such things as, “Let’s not cut ourselves off at the foot…ankle?…let’s not chop our ankle off…?” or “Are you pulling my finger?  Wait.  Are you yanking my leg?  Pulling my chain…?”.  But, back to the point!  I want to tell you what I’ve been up to.

Jen and I are starting a sweets company!

Jen is one of my good friends who I’ve oft talked about on this blog – it’s no coincidence.  We’ve been hanging out with each other a lot lately.  A lot.  More specifically, most nights and weekends.  In addition to rehearsing sketch comedy every Tuesday night and performing together with Harvard Sailing Team every Saturday night, we have been gathering in her kitchen, my living room, various Barnes & Nobles, the occasional Chipotle, the Brooklyn AND Manhattan Trader Joe’s, (mostly just her kitchen) to discuss recipes and business plans.

Phewf!  I’m glad I got this off my chest!  We have been baking and planning and designing and learning what it’s like to run a budding business all during this past month, and the experience has been nothing short of exhilarating and nervous-making.  Jen announced the news a few weeks ago on her blog, and naturally, my fear of missing out compelled me to start sharing it here, on my blog.  So, here we go, the trials and tribulations of starting a sweets company with one of your close friends, as told by Faryn Einhorn – nervous nelly and chocoholic.

our first brownie

yu-um!

Leave a Reply

