Let’s Spend The Day Together

 

Time Out New York just voted The General Greene: best new neighborhood joint in brooklyn

Time Out New York just voted The General Greene: best new neighborhood joint in brooklyn

 

 

iced coffee please

iced coffee please

 

fellow brunchers

fellow brunchers

 

shoulder town

shoulder town

a succulent in a nut can

a succulent in a nut can

"park that bike by the coffee station!"

"park that bike by the coffee station!"

I'm already planning my next trip here

I'm already planning my next trip here

love these colors

love these colors

lazing in the grass at fort greene park

lazing in the grass at fort greene park

we all scream for ice cream! Blue Marble on Atlantic Avenue

we all scream for ice cream at Blue Marble on Atlantic Avenue

 

oh the flavors!

oh the flavors!

his marble of choice: dulce de leche

his marble of choice: dulce de leche

her marble of choice: mint chip

her marble of choice: mint chip

the sunset from my roof

the sunset from my roof

cherry tomato and asparagus pesto pasta for dinner

cherry tomato and asparagus pesto pasta for dinner

More often than not, my boyfriend and my schedules pull us in opposite directions.  Most evenings before bed we ask each other, “What are you up to tomorrow?” and the response is usually a laundry list of errands to run and rehearsals to attend and work shifts to go to and baking schedules to adhere to.  However, when this question was posed this past Saturday night, you could imagine how surprised we were when both of our answers were “I actually don’t have any plans tomorrow.”

!!!  

We seized the opportunity and took the whole sunny day to venture around Fort Greene together, an area of Brooklyn that both of us had been wanting to explore.  We didn’t leave the borough once yesterday, and we appropriately fulfilled our role as “that young Brooklyn couple” – we brunched, sat in the park, got ice cream, went to a movie at BAM Rose Cinemas, did a quick shopping stop at Target, and made dinner at home.  The day was made even more wonderful by the fact that it was so spontaneous.  If I had known a week ago that we both had Sunday free, I’m sure I would have tried to schedule a million things (“we’ll wake up early, go to the gym, then we’ll get coffee at Joyce Bakeshop, and then we can take a picnic to the Cloisters, and then we’ll try to rush the matinee of Exit The King, and then for the late afternoon and early evening portion of our day…”), and my tendency to micro-manage and plan everything out in advance would surely have ruined the specialness and spur of the moment plans of yesterday.  It was a really perfect day, one that made me incredibly happy to relax and be okay with the fact that I wasn’t necessarily being productive.  Dobby, thanks for sharing the springsummeralldayfortgreenebrooklynbonanza day with me.   

Since the weather has been on our side here in New York the past few days (sunny as heck and in the 80s!), I have been slapping on the spf 35 and frolicking around as much and as early as possible and haven’t had much sit-down-at-the-computer-to-blog-and-look-out-the-window-wishing-the-weather-was-warmer time.  But despite the lack o blogging of late, I have much exciting Fanny & Jane updates and promise to fill you in soon!  

For now, I’m slapping on the spf 35 and donning my blue and orange and getting ready to head out to a Mets game at the new Citi Field – Shake Shack and fly balls, here I come!

One Response to “Let’s Spend The Day Together”

  1. General Greene Ice Cream « Fear Of Missing Out Says:

    […] The General Greene in Fort Greene.  (I blogged about a brunch I enjoyed at the General Greene here).  This ice cream cart’s 6 flavors change daily, so like all good New York mobile food […]

Leave a Reply

