Let’s Split It

Another thing to add to my “Absolutely Love” list is the act of splitting.  Regardless of whether it’s a piece of pie or a burger, I’m always the first to ask, “Do you wanna split something?”  For a while I thought I did it because I just liked the feeling of sharing a couple dishes with a friend (you get a little a this, a little a that), but now I realize that this compulsion is actually hereditary: I got it from my mom!  This realization hit me like a ton of bricks this past weekend while she was in town.  We went to Sarabeth’s for lunch, and just after the menus had been freshly dropped off at our table she asked, “Do you wanna just split a few things?”.  Caught completely off guard by someone else initiating the splitting process, my excitement levels went through the roof, and in my mind I was thinking, “Yes!!!  I LOVE splitting! OMIGOD, THIS IS GREAT”.  But in an effort to conceal my overzealousness (If I seem too excited, she might take back her offer!  Be cool, Faryn.  Be cool, man), I tried to take the nonchalant approach, and just politely replied, “Perfect.”

We ordered something sweet and something savory – my favorite way to split. 

Market Vegetable Salad Plate

market vegetable salad plate: baby field greens, shaved fennel, green and red peppers, haricot verts, carrots, beets, and ricotta salata in a sherry shallot vinaigrette

lemon and ricotta pancakes with fresh berries

lemon and ricotta pancakes with fresh berries

It was absolutely delish!

Leave a Reply

