Say Hello To Your New Fan, KEANE

IMG_0058

IMG_0056

IMG_0079

IMG_0061

IMG_0072

IMG_0075

IMG_0080

I came across these pictures last night, and it reminded me how great this concert was.

I wouldn’t be my father’s daughter or my brother’s sister if I didn’t like the band Keane.  So going to this concert was somewhat of a family obligation.  Actually, the reason I was able to go to this concert at all was because of a family boo-boo.  After a series of extended travel plans and several standby lines later, my brother missed his flight back to the city and was thus left with a pair of unclaimed tickets to the May 27th SOLD OUT Keane concert at Radio City Music Hall.  I guess I could go.  I mean, I am a really busy person, but I’ll try to clear my schedule.  Actually, Season 5 of LOST is over, so, look at that, my Wednesday nights just opened up!  Brother, I will go in your stead.  And I’m bringing Shawna.

Having gotten word from my father (who saw the concert in L.A. a few weeks prior) that the opening bands were missable, Shawna and I decided to have a nice and leisurely pre-concert evening.  So to Happy Hour we went!  Hitting up our  favorite HH spot, Pianos, on the lower east side, we indulged in their $5 burger and nachos (seriously you guys, it’s a great deal!) and some gin & tonics.  Then off to Radio City, getting to our seats just in time for the show to start.  This was only my second time ever at Radio City, and the grandiosity of it is something to behold.  The lobby alone is magnificent — beautifully decked out in art deco style with a grand spiral staircase and pointy glass chandelier.  It’s hard for me to adequately explain how magnificent it felt to be standing in the lobby of Radio City, but I just remember thinking it feels important to be here.

Once inside the theater, I was immediately taken by the lead singer’s voice.  He is incredible – his voice sounding as crisp and pure as it does on the radio.  Only kinda familiar with some of their songs, I’m more of a fan by association (sorry dad), I was actually surprised to find how many songs I knew without realizing it!  It was a great concert.  Not only were the songs catchy and beautiful, but Keane kept me entertained with their boundless energy and verve while the frontman, Tom Chaplin, bounced all over the stage often leaping into the side pews and mugging for his adoring fans.  (Their second encore of Queen’s “Under Pressure” being a highlight of the evening).  I’m not gonna lie, it was pretty fun to scream and holler and pretend I was a bigger fan than I actually am, but by the end of the night, truth is I couldn’t get any of their songs out of my head.

I’ve been really digging their music lately, and I now have the Pandora “Keane station” bookmarked at work.  To listen to all the songs from their set list, click here.  Their song “Try Again” is my current favorite.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

