Old Family Photo

IMG_0302

On Sunday I went to New Jersey to spend time with some of my East coast family and to play with the newest baby in the family, Brody Sid Baker!  Going to Jersey is always a big family affair, and ten times out of ten, this involves copious amounts of food and big comfy couch-sitting sessions.  Sign me up.

The matriarch of my New Jersey family is my great Aunt Rose  (literally a great lady, but also technically my Great Aunt by family tree definition).  I love and adore her.  I’ve blogged about her 90th birthday party and some of her classic Aunt Rose-isms here.

Recently, my great Aunt Rose  moved from the house where she raised her kids, into a brand new apartment.  So this move was a big emotional deal for her (c’mon, she’d lived in that house for over 50 years), but I’m a fan of change, no matter how set in your ways you think you are, and I think even she surprised herself by how quickly she was able to adapt.  One of the greatest things to come out of the move, was that it unearthed some great family photos that I’d never seen before, and every time I go to Jersey I come back with some awesome family relic.  Among them, was this gem.  Sorry, mom.

Mom, where was this taken?  And what’s with that facial expression??  Great hat.

One Response to “Old Family Photo”

  1. Mama Mindy Says:

    ok…can’t believe you outed me here ! I was 3 and 1/2, we had just come home from the beach…every crevice was loaded with sand and my dad thought it would be a good photo op before I went into the house to dissolve into the tub – I wasn’t happy, but I “forced” the smile as evidenced in the photo! I do however have a total visceral recall of the moment- so thanks for the memory! hugs and kisses….Mom

Leave a Reply

