Summer, Where Ya Goin?

IMG_0283

IMG_0290

IMG_0294

IMG_0297

IMG_0299

Sitting atop my friend’s Williamsburg roof the other day, I became acutely aware that we’re in the middle of August, quickly heading towards September.

Staying true to my fear of missing out, I’ve been having slight anxiety about the summer slipping away and the feeling that I didn’t take advantage of everything that a New York summer has to offer a young, energetic, movie and food-loving girl like me.  I know it’s unrealistic to expect myself to attend every drink special event at Beer Table, or get a front row seat at the Coney Island Mermaid Parade, but still!  I read my issue of Time Out New York every week.  I’m well aware of all the events potentially at my fingertips!  I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t made it to ONE outdoor movie screening this entire season (how could I have allowed myself to miss “Harold and Maude” in Bryant Park??).

I guess I don’t really have a good excuse.  Sure, I’ve been baking my butt off, and this summer has turned out to be one of my hardest-working New York summers yet (what happened to summer vacation?).  I think I’ve just been experiencing some serious wander lust lately.  In recent summers past, I’ve had an EscapeFromNewYork to look forward to.  Whether it was a trip to a faraway land (Israel) or a trip to some other faraway land (Burning Man), knowing that I had some trip to look forward to, somehow made it easier to chill out, pat myself on the back and say, “Good job.  What a rejuvenating summer.  Way to treat yourself, Self”.

Because of an uber busy schedule and due to financial restrictions, it seems there will be no big (or little) trip for me this summer.  Although, there has been some recent buzz about a group camping trip!  Fingers crossed that it pans out.  I do feel bad complaining though, because even though my summer has been seemingly non-stop obligations, it has been for things that I enjoy – consistent Fanny & Jane orders coming in and big Harvard Sailing Team comedy video projects to shoot and shopping for furniture and paint swatches to re-decorate my living room – it’s all good stuff!  I think my nights of staying up until 2am and waking up a mere 6 hours later, are finally starting to catch up with me.  To be expected.  All I’m sayin’ is that a massage would be really nice.  In Greece.  Fine, I’ll take Jersey.  Just so long as it’s before Autumn.

Leave a Reply

