Happy Quichester!

homemade quiche and pie, made by MacKenzie

homemade quiche and pie by MacKenzie

french toast stuffed with ricotta

beautiful birthday girl

Who’s a Jew that loves Easter and has two thumbs?

>Points thumbs enthusiastically at self<

This guy.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve suffered from a mild case of Goy Holiday-envy. As soon as Thanksgiving is over, I play my “Holiday playlist” nonstop, and I don’t retire it until a few weeks after new years. I’ve never had a christmas tree, I’ve always yearned for my own stocking over the mantle, and I didn’t even fully understand what a Cadbury egg was (it’s a chocolate shell but the inside is filled with white and yellow goo?) until just a few years ago.

This past Sunday was a heavenly delight. One of my best friends’ birthday’s coincided with Easter this year. So like any good shiksa would, she planned an Easter brunch. And we called it an Easter slash Birthday brunch. And it was at my apartment. And I couldn’t wait. Not only was I co-hosting an Easter brunch, but I also got to participate in my FIRST EVER EASTER EGG HUNT! I heard that, apparently, traditional easter egg hunts take place outside, preferably in someone’s yard.  But due to limitations of my Brooklyn apartment (mainly the fact that I don’t have a yard to speak of), we did an urban version: eggs were hidden in my bathroom and living room.  Hey, good enough for me!

The whole experience was just as I had imagined: exhilarating, hilarious, and drunk. And delicious. There were Rolos and Hershey Kisses inside!

Enjoy the photos, and Happy birthday, Natalie!

Leave a Reply

